Showing posts with label Accident. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Accident. Show all posts

FAQ's About Motorcycle Accidents and Answers from Michigan Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Thursday, December 16, 2010

Question: At the time of my Michigan motorcycle accident, I did not have insurance on my motorcycle. Can I still sue the driver who hit me?

Answer: Yes. Michigan law treats motorcyclists differently than individuals driving their own cars without insurance. Thus, an injured motorcyclist, who did not have insurance on his or her bike, may bring a lawsuit against the careless driver who caused the Michigan motorcycle accident.

Question: What is Uninsured Motorist Coverage?

Answer: Uninsured Motorist Coverage is an insurance coverage option that may allow you to recover damages from your own insurance policy, when an at-fault driver did not have insurance or cannot be identified (i.e. hit and run driver). It is a wise idea to carry uninsured coverage, to protect yourself in case you are in this situation when you are in a Michigan motorcycle accident.

Question: Is there a difference between uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage?

Answer: Yes. Underinsured coverage provides an additional means of collecting damages, if you are seriously injured in an accident. It is different than uninsured coverage, which is available when there was no identifiable insurance on an at-fault vehicle. For example, if you carried a policy of $100,000 underinsured coverage and the at-fault driver had a $20,000 liability insurance policy, you could seek up to $80,000 in additional damages from your own insurance company. This applies only after your attorney secures a tender offer of the underlying policy of insurance. As you can see, these claims are complicated and must be handled carefully.

An uninsured endorsement on a policy does not necessarily include an underinsured endorsement. Premature acceptance of an underlying policy in full settlement of your Michigan motorcycle accident claim could deprive you of the right to collect uninsured coverage.

Question: The driver who caused the Michigan motorcycle accident did not have insurance. I did not carry uninsured motorist coverage on my motorcycle, but have it in my motorcycle insurance policy. Can I make a claim for damages I suffered in the Michigan motorcycle accident through my motorcycle insurance?

Answer: Maybe. Your eligibility for uninsured coverage may depend on the specific wording of your Michigan motorcycle insurance policy. You should contact a Michigan motorcycle accident lawyer for help determining what your insurance policy covers.

If you or a loved one was seriously injured in a Michigan motorcycle accident, talk with an experienced Michigan motorcycle accident lawyer.




Attorney Marya Sieminski joined the Law Offices of Sam Bernstein in 2003. She is admitted to practice law in Michigan state courts and in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and graduated magna cum laude from Wayne State University Law School. Marya has worked as a trial lawyer for 10 years and exclusively represented victims in personal injury litigation and in workers compensation claims. She also was appointed by the Governor to serve on the State of Michigan Workers Compensation Qualifications Advisory Committee.

The Law Offices of Samuel I. Bernstein, our Michigan motorcycle accident and personal injury law firm, has championed the cause of seriously injured Michigan auto accident victims for three generations.

Choosing the Right Attorney After Your Accident Tuesday, December 7, 2010

If you have ever been in a car accident, then you know just how devastating it can be to absolutely every aspect of your life. In the blink of an eye, you can find yourself painfully injured, without a car, and unable to work. The financial and medical repercussions reach far beyond the split second that you feel the impact. Many people spend years recovering after a car accident, both financially and physically. You can make certain that this does not happen to you by seeking a Miami auto accident attorney that will take your side and get compensation to you as quickly as possible so that you can get on with your normal life.

The first thing you must think about after an auto accident is how you will pay for the medical bills for your care. If you are lucky enough to have excellent medical coverage, then this might not be as devastating for you as it can be for others. Sometimes, however, just the deductibles can be a staggering amount of money. Those that do not have all-inclusive healthcare coverage, or perhaps do not have healthcare insurance at all, must figure out how to repay the hospital for tens of thousands of dollars for x-rays, physician time, and ambulance use. The final cost is often quite shocking.

Next, you will have to figure out how to pay for the damages to your car. If the car is totaled, you just have to write it off as a complete loss. Many people only carry liability insurance on their vehicle, which protects the car that they hit, but not the care that they own. You might think that's enough to get you by, but your first car accident will convince you otherwise. Your lien holder doesn't care if your car still exists. They do care that the loan does.

Consider, also, the amount of work that you will miss due to your injuries. This can result in lost wages that make it hard to pay the bills. If you cannot move around, you will not be able to adequately care for your children or keep your house. In essence, your car accident reaches into the lives of those around you. A Miami auto accident attorney will ensure that you receive the compensation that you are owed, which will relieve much of the financial pressure from you and your loved ones.




David Benenfeld, Esquire has been a member of the Florida Bar since 1994. He specializes personal injury law in the Ft. Lauderdale and Miami, Florida area. Visit InjuryLawService.com for more information on a personal injury lawyer, auto accident attorney or Workers' Compensation lawyer.

Auto Accident Child Safety Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Travel Safely with Young Passengers in Your Car

The essential safety information for every parent, relative, friend, or caregiver, who may transport an infant or small child in an automobile is to be sure to get the right car seat for your child. When it comes to child restraint systems, one size does not fit all, and each system must be appropriate for the individual youngster's age, weight, and height.

The following are general guidelines about the kind of protection your child may need:

  • Infants up to about 1 year old should travel in a federally-approved infant safety seat that faces the rear of the car. Facing the back of the car protects a baby's fragile head and neck if a car accident occurs. The car seat should be semi-reclined so that the baby's head does not flop forward.

  • Children between 1 and 4 years old can sit in a convertible seat that faces forward, if the car seat is equipped with harness straps to securely hold the youngster in place.

  • A child who outgrows a convertible seat should ride in a booster seat, which will make the safety belt fit better and more comfortably.

  • After a child gets too big for a booster seat, he or she can wear a regular seat belt, but should continue to sit in the back seat until 12 years of age.

Give your child the maximum protection by using the car safety seat properly.

Although about 80% of drivers use child restraint systems, over 70% were incorrectly installed. The most common mistakes were incorrect use of the tethers and harnesses, which will keep the child safely secured in the event of an accident. This puts children at risk, and can easily be avoided, if drivers take the time to follow these simple steps:

  • Study the vehicle owner's manual and car seat instructions carefully.

  • Check to see if you need a special locking clip. Not all standard safety belts will secure a car seat without it.

  • Look for a car seat with a label saying it meets federal motor vehicle standards.

  • Send in the car seat registration card, so that you will get notice of product safety recalls.

  • Get a tight fit - the car seat should not move more than one inch from side to side or forward. To check for proper installation, push and pull on the car seat near the safety belt buckle.

  • Replace a car seat that has been in a crash.




Attorney Marya Sieminski joined the Law Offices of Sam Bernstein in 2003. She is admitted to practice law in Michigan state courts and in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and graduated magna cum laude from Wayne State University Law School. Marya has worked as a trial lawyer for 10 years and exclusively represented victims in personal injury litigation and in workers compensation claims. She also was appointed by the Governor to serve on the State of Michigan Workers Compensation Qualifications Advisory Committee.

The Law Offices of Samuel I. Bernstein, our Michigan auto accident and personal injury law firm, has championed the cause of seriously injured Michigan auto accident victims for three generations.

Understanding Michigan Auto Accident Claims and The Basics of Michigan's No-Fault Laws Sunday, September 12, 2010


Image : http://www.flickr.com


The laws that govern Michigan automobile accidents are long and complex. Often, the terms used by car accident insurance agents and lawyers are confusing. Two important terms you should know:


  1. First-Party Benefits

  2. Third-Party Benefits

Michigan is a No-Fault State. This means that your own Michigan car accident insurance company pays most of the economic losses you suffer in an automobile accident, regardless of who was at fault. These economic benefits are called First-Party Benefits.

Third-Party Benefits usually cover non-economic losses, including damages for pain and suffering. Both of these types of benefits are described in detail below.

Michigan First-Party Basics

The Michigan law defining First-Party Benefits states: First-party benefits are payable to anyone who suffers an injury arising out of the ownership, operation, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle as a motor vehicle.

The following analysis looks at:


  • Who has to pay your Michigan No-Fault Benefits?

  • What are the specific benefits you may be entitled to receive after a Michigan auto accident?

Michigan First-Party Order of Priority

Although your own insurance is first in line to pay in a Michigan automobile accident, there are times when an uninsured individual is an innocent passenger in a motor vehicle. In these circumstances, determining who is responsible to pay Michigan No-Fault Benefits can be complex.

Driver or Passenger Order of Priority


  • 1st priority is your own insurance policy, if none then...

  • 2nd priority is to the insurance company of a resident relative (i.e. spouse, parent, or sibling), if none then...

  • 3rd priority is to the insurer of the owner of the vehicle occupied, if none then...

  • 4th priority is to the insurer of the driver of the vehicle occupied, if none then...

  • 5th priority is to the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Facility.

Pedestrian Order of Priority


  • 1st priority is to your own insurance, if none then...

  • 2nd priority is to the insurance company of a resident relative (i.e. spouse, parent, or sibling), if none then...

  • 3rd priority is to the insurer of the owner of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 4th priority is to the insurer of the driver of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 5th priority is to the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Facility.

Motorcycle Order of Priority

A different order for receiving benefits exists if you were on a motorcycle when the accident happened, because motorcycles are not considered "motor vehicles" under Michigan law. In a motorcycle/auto collision, the priority would be as follows:


  • 1st priority is to the insurer of the owner of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 2nd priority is to the insurer of the operator of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 3rd priority is to the motor vehicle insurer of the operator of the motorcycle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 4th priority is to the motor vehicle insurer of the owner of the motorcycle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 5th priority is to the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Facility.

The Michigan Assigned Claims Facility

The Michigan Assigned Claims Facility is a State Agency with the power to assign an auto accident insurance company to provide benefits, if an injured victim cannot obtain benefits from other sources. Remember that uninsured drivers, operating vehicle they own, do not qualify for Michigan Assigned Claim Facility assistance. To apply for Assigned Claims Benefits, call the Michigan Assigned Claim Facility directly at 517-322-1875.

Specific Michigan First-Party Benefits

The First-Party No-Fault Benefits that you claim from your own insurance company include:

Medical Bills for Life

Michigan motor vehicle accident law requires that medical coverage continue for life, or for as long as you need treatment for injuries suffered in the accident.

There are many complicated factors to getting your medical bills paid, if you are in a Michigan motor vehicle accident. We recommend that you contact our office about your rights.

To qualify for medical expense reimbursement, a bill must be reasonable (in cost and necessity) and the bill must be actually incurred. Michigan law does not provide for guaranteed pre-payment of bills due to a motor vehicle accident. Sometimes, an auto accident insurance company will try to escape its responsibility, by questioning the need to a medical test or procedure, which your physician ordered, or by disputing the amount of the medical bill.

Insurance companies in Michigan provide two types of medical coverage in the event of an automobile accident:


  1. Uncoordinated benefits

  2. Coordinated benefits

Your insurance policy states which type of benefits you should receive. An uncoordinated policy pays benefits, regardless of the presence of other health insurance. A coordinated policy requires your other health insurance to pay first, and your automobile insurance to pay amounts that your primary insurer does not cover.

It is common for a primary health insurance policy and a motor vehicle insurance policy to contain contradictory language about which one has the first obligation to pay medical bills. Meanwhile, the motor vehicle insurance company may escape its obligation to pay a bill, if it did not receive it within one year of the date that you got the medical treatment.

Wage Loss

Michigan No-Fault Law allows an injured individual to receive 85% of his or her lost wages, if a doctor found the victim disabled from work due to injuries suffered in a car accident. This benefit cannot exceed a period of 3 years. The wage loss benefit is set at 85%, rather than 100%, of lost earnings because the benefit is tax-free. The law also sets a monthly cap on the amount of lost wages that the insurance company must reimburse.

Attendant Care

Michigan auto accident law requires the no-fault insurance company to pay for attendant care (also known as nursing services) for an injured victim who needs supervision or assistance while recovering at home. Sometimes, a physician determines that a person with severe injury needs around-the-clock supervision. A caregiver who is a member of the victim's family is entitled to attendant care reimbursement. Although the law does not set a specific hourly rate for the caregiver, the reimbursement should reflect the type and complexity of the services that the injured person receives. Frequently, insurance companies unreasonably and unlawfully refuse to pay for adequate attendant care.

Replacement Services

This term refers to reimbursement for services that you would have performed on your own, if you were not injured in an accident. If you paid or promised to pay for household services, chores, errands, etc., which you usually accomplished on your own, then you may be entitled to reimbursement for these expenses. A physician needs to provide a written statement that you are unable to do these tasks on your own. In addition, your insurance company may require documentation of who performed which services. Michigan law states that an auto accident insurance company is obligated to reimburse up to $20 per day for replacement services and that these benefits last for up to three years.

Mileage Reimbursement

Often, proper medical treatment, tests, and physical therapy require an injured person to travel long distances. Michigan No-Fault Law provides for the reimbursement for mileage traveled to and from this medical care.

Third-Party Auto No-Fault Law Basics

Under Michigan auto law, while First-Party Benefits cover most economic losses, Third-Party Benefits provide damages for pain and suffering, scarring or disfigurement, death, and wage loss in excess of 3 years. In Michigan, a Third-Party legal claim is filed against the at-fault driver in the motor vehicle accident. With the exception of excess wage loss, the damages sought in a Third-Party case are non-economic in nature. To prevail in a claim against a careless driver for non-economic damages in Michigan, the injured auto accident victim must show that he or she suffered a "threshold injury." Michigan law defines this as:


  • A serious impairment of an important body function, serious disfigurement or scarring, or death.

It is very common for insurance company adjusters to assert that an injury is not a "serious impairment of a body function." However, if you have an objectively documented injury to an important part of your body, and this affects your life, then you should talk with an experienced Michigan auto accident lawyer dedicated to helping Michigan auto injury victims.




Attorney Marya Sieminski joined the Law Offices of Sam Bernstein in 2003. She is admitted to practice law in Michigan state courts and in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and graduated magna cum laude from Wayne State University Law School. Marya has worked as a trial lawyer for 10 years and exclusively represented victims in personal injury litigation and in workers compensation claims. She also was appointed by the Governor to serve on the State of Michigan Workers Compensation Qualifications Advisory Committee.

The Law Offices of Samuel I. Bernstein, our Michigan auto accident and personal injury law firm, has championed the cause of seriously injured Michigan auto accident victims for three generations.

Understanding Michigan Auto Accident Claims and The Basics of Michigan's No-Fault Laws Tuesday, August 10, 2010

The laws that govern Michigan automobile accidents are long and complex. Often, the terms used by car accident insurance agents and lawyers are confusing. Two important terms you should know:


  1. First-Party Benefits

  2. Third-Party Benefits

Michigan is a No-Fault State. This means that your own Michigan car accident insurance company pays most of the economic losses you suffer in an automobile accident, regardless of who was at fault. These economic benefits are called First-Party Benefits.

Third-Party Benefits usually cover non-economic losses, including damages for pain and suffering. Both of these types of benefits are described in detail below.

Michigan First-Party Basics

The Michigan law defining First-Party Benefits states: First-party benefits are payable to anyone who suffers an injury arising out of the ownership, operation, maintenance or use of a motor vehicle as a motor vehicle.

The following analysis looks at:


  • Who has to pay your Michigan No-Fault Benefits?

  • What are the specific benefits you may be entitled to receive after a Michigan auto accident?

Michigan First-Party Order of Priority

Although your own insurance is first in line to pay in a Michigan automobile accident, there are times when an uninsured individual is an innocent passenger in a motor vehicle. In these circumstances, determining who is responsible to pay Michigan No-Fault Benefits can be complex.

Driver or Passenger Order of Priority


  • 1st priority is your own insurance policy, if none then...

  • 2nd priority is to the insurance company of a resident relative (i.e. spouse, parent, or sibling), if none then...

  • 3rd priority is to the insurer of the owner of the vehicle occupied, if none then...

  • 4th priority is to the insurer of the driver of the vehicle occupied, if none then...

  • 5th priority is to the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Facility.

Pedestrian Order of Priority


  • 1st priority is to your own insurance, if none then...

  • 2nd priority is to the insurance company of a resident relative (i.e. spouse, parent, or sibling), if none then...

  • 3rd priority is to the insurer of the owner of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 4th priority is to the insurer of the driver of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 5th priority is to the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Facility.

Motorcycle Order of Priority

A different order for receiving benefits exists if you were on a motorcycle when the accident happened, because motorcycles are not considered "motor vehicles" under Michigan law. In a motorcycle/auto collision, the priority would be as follows:


  • 1st priority is to the insurer of the owner of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 2nd priority is to the insurer of the operator of the motor vehicle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 3rd priority is to the motor vehicle insurer of the operator of the motorcycle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 4th priority is to the motor vehicle insurer of the owner of the motorcycle involved in the accident, if none then...

  • 5th priority is to the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Facility.

The Michigan Assigned Claims Facility

The Michigan Assigned Claims Facility is a State Agency with the power to assign an auto accident insurance company to provide benefits, if an injured victim cannot obtain benefits from other sources. Remember that uninsured drivers, operating vehicle they own, do not qualify for Michigan Assigned Claim Facility assistance. To apply for Assigned Claims Benefits, call the Michigan Assigned Claim Facility directly at 517-322-1875.

Specific Michigan First-Party Benefits

The First-Party No-Fault Benefits that you claim from your own insurance company include:

Medical Bills for Life

Michigan motor vehicle accident law requires that medical coverage continue for life, or for as long as you need treatment for injuries suffered in the accident.

There are many complicated factors to getting your medical bills paid, if you are in a Michigan motor vehicle accident. We recommend that you contact our office about your rights.

To qualify for medical expense reimbursement, a bill must be reasonable (in cost and necessity) and the bill must be actually incurred. Michigan law does not provide for guaranteed pre-payment of bills due to a motor vehicle accident. Sometimes, an auto accident insurance company will try to escape its responsibility, by questioning the need to a medical test or procedure, which your physician ordered, or by disputing the amount of the medical bill.

Insurance companies in Michigan provide two types of medical coverage in the event of an automobile accident:


  1. Uncoordinated benefits

  2. Coordinated benefits

Your insurance policy states which type of benefits you should receive. An uncoordinated policy pays benefits, regardless of the presence of other health insurance. A coordinated policy requires your other health insurance to pay first, and your automobile insurance to pay amounts that your primary insurer does not cover.

It is common for a primary health insurance policy and a motor vehicle insurance policy to contain contradictory language about which one has the first obligation to pay medical bills. Meanwhile, the motor vehicle insurance company may escape its obligation to pay a bill, if it did not receive it within one year of the date that you got the medical treatment.

Wage Loss

Michigan No-Fault Law allows an injured individual to receive 85% of his or her lost wages, if a doctor found the victim disabled from work due to injuries suffered in a car accident. This benefit cannot exceed a period of 3 years. The wage loss benefit is set at 85%, rather than 100%, of lost earnings because the benefit is tax-free. The law also sets a monthly cap on the amount of lost wages that the insurance company must reimburse.

Attendant Care

Michigan auto accident law requires the no-fault insurance company to pay for attendant care (also known as nursing services) for an injured victim who needs supervision or assistance while recovering at home. Sometimes, a physician determines that a person with severe injury needs around-the-clock supervision. A caregiver who is a member of the victim's family is entitled to attendant care reimbursement. Although the law does not set a specific hourly rate for the caregiver, the reimbursement should reflect the type and complexity of the services that the injured person receives. Frequently, insurance companies unreasonably and unlawfully refuse to pay for adequate attendant care.

Replacement Services

This term refers to reimbursement for services that you would have performed on your own, if you were not injured in an accident. If you paid or promised to pay for household services, chores, errands, etc., which you usually accomplished on your own, then you may be entitled to reimbursement for these expenses. A physician needs to provide a written statement that you are unable to do these tasks on your own. In addition, your insurance company may require documentation of who performed which services. Michigan law states that an auto accident insurance company is obligated to reimburse up to $20 per day for replacement services and that these benefits last for up to three years.

Mileage Reimbursement

Often, proper medical treatment, tests, and physical therapy require an injured person to travel long distances. Michigan No-Fault Law provides for the reimbursement for mileage traveled to and from this medical care.

Third-Party Auto No-Fault Law Basics

Under Michigan auto law, while First-Party Benefits cover most economic losses, Third-Party Benefits provide damages for pain and suffering, scarring or disfigurement, death, and wage loss in excess of 3 years. In Michigan, a Third-Party legal claim is filed against the at-fault driver in the motor vehicle accident. With the exception of excess wage loss, the damages sought in a Third-Party case are non-economic in nature. To prevail in a claim against a careless driver for non-economic damages in Michigan, the injured auto accident victim must show that he or she suffered a "threshold injury." Michigan law defines this as:


  • A serious impairment of an important body function, serious disfigurement or scarring, or death.

It is very common for insurance company adjusters to assert that an injury is not a "serious impairment of a body function." However, if you have an objectively documented injury to an important part of your body, and this affects your life, then you should talk with an experienced Michigan auto accident lawyer dedicated to helping Michigan auto injury victims.




Attorney Marya Sieminski joined the Law Offices of Sam Bernstein in 2003. She is admitted to practice law in Michigan state courts and in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan. She earned her Bachelor of Science degree at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and graduated magna cum laude from Wayne State University Law School. Marya has worked as a trial lawyer for 10 years and exclusively represented victims in personal injury litigation and in workers compensation claims. She also was appointed by the Governor to serve on the State of Michigan Workers Compensation Qualifications Advisory Committee.

The Law Offices of Samuel I. Bernstein, our Michigan auto accident and personal injury law firm, has championed the cause of seriously injured Michigan auto accident victims for three generations.

..